Sketch technique

I decided to try out a new technique – inspired by a challenge at Design House Digital. The challenge was to convert a photograph in Photoshop (or other image-editing program I suppose!) to look like a sketch. Then to use that sketch on a layout.

I’d not tried this before, and I’m really pleased with the way it turned out. I dug through my photos for one that shouted “Me! Sketch me!” and this one did just that. I kept the rest of the page fairly simple as I wanted the sketch to be the focal point. I’m pleased with it!

If you’d like some tips to have a go yourself here is the challenge with step by step instructions: DHD forum (I chose not to do the water-colour section, I liked the black and white look! I think you’ll need to be a member to look at it) In case you can’t access the DHD one, here’s a simpler black and white tutorial: Shabby Princess blog 

Do you stick with the same techniques all the time or do you like to try new things?

Leave a Reply

